Newbie with newbie questions...

The place for General LEGO Discussions such as the LEGO website, video games, movie, general LEGO inquries and everything else not included in our forums.
Richey1977
I'm New !

Newbie with newbie questions...

Post by Richey1977 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:26 am

Hi. I'm a newbie here. I made a spontaneous purchase of a small Lego kit last month (60019 Stunt Plane), and as I enjoyed it, I reckon I'll now be designing and building a little diorama. I remember having some Legoland town kits as a child, and I'm torn between hunting down some of the old 1980s kits on eBay, or simply building quite similar things from scratch.

Some questions for you experienced AFOLs:

- Rear walls. The kits of buildings are often three-sided, to allow access to the building's interior. When you AFOLs design your buildings, do you stick to that, or make them more realistic with four walls and enclosed interiors?

- Studs. Are studs showing on surfaces such as pavements and car parks, or do you tile over them?

Thanks very much for any advice. I think I'll be getting some of the 'City' sets for my diorama, although I'm a bit disappointed that most of the sets are Police or Fire sets. I guess the designers at Lego have a low opinion of the crime and arson in Legoland… would be nice to see some less 'eventful' sets such as post offices and restaurants etc., but I guess I can find the old Lego Town ones, or design them myself.

Cheers.

Richey

Brick & Blue
Count
Count

Re: Newbie with newbie questions...

Post by Brick & Blue » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:19 am

Post offices and restaurants don't sell, cops and fire do. You would need to buy the Creator houses and the expensive sets if you want a decent city.

I use three walls, saves bricks, no one will see the back most of the time as I only do one street, but it depends on what you are building. If you are doing a whole city I'd do four walls.