Hobbit sets retiring soon?

Discuss various LEGO themes like Friends, City, Star Wars, Batman and more here.
StClair
Count
Count

Hobbit sets retiring soon?

Post by StClair » Sat Oct 17, 2015 9:57 am

Please be advised that I have no inside knowledge.

For those waiting to buy sets they need to complete their Hobbit and LOTR collections be sure to not wait too long. At the moment 79018 Lonely Mountain (with Smaug) is marked "sold out" online at LEGO shop@home (US). 79012 Mirkwood Elf Army is currently "call to check product availability". Yesterday the Elf Army was marked as either sold out or out of stock.. I can't remember for certain. I called and placed an order today by phone. I wanted 3x Elf Army sets but was told there was only 2x available.

Some of the others are "available now".

None of them are currently listed under "retiring soon" but often sets just disappear without a warning. Its very likely that the Mirkwood Elf Army could have simply sold out during the 2x VIP points promo and will be restocked or more inventory will be gathered BUT its possible that this could be it.

I don't want to alarm anyone (because I don't have any inside knowledge). Lonely Mountain has Smaug while Mirkwood Elf Army has Thandruil, Elf soldiers and a Warg.

I asked about Jurassic World sets and the agent said what I've heard others say... that they are gone until after the Holidays but may be available after the Holidays. He said that some LEGO stores may find some AND of course they may pop up in other retail places.

Brickbuilder0937
TnB Forum Moderator
TnB Forum Moderator

Re: Hobbit sets retiring soon?

Post by Brickbuilder0937 » Sat Oct 17, 2015 10:17 am

Thanks! I had been waiting to get the lonely mountain set until it was on sale. I just bought it on amazon for 10% off retail. No telling how much longer it will be around
http://www.amazon.com/LEGO-Hobbit-79018 ... g=tonbr-20

StClair
Count
Count

Post by StClair » Thu Oct 29, 2015 7:59 pm